Murray and his girls aren’t complaining too too much, and neither are the pigs or the rabbits or the chickens. The only thing they seem confused by is how the water got broken. For the past couple days, whenever I tend to the feeding, they all look at me and then look at their water sources and then back at me as if they’re saying “Hey, fix the water farmer.”

Not that the water is actually broken. It’s not contaminated and it hasn’t run dry, although most of the excess from the rains last week has dried up. No, the water troughs are still pretty much full and clean, it’s just thata the animals an’t drink the water. Why?

f51cbe86e3fc20269fe00bdeb2cb4408

Because it’s frozen. Frozen as solid as a Thanksgiving turkey or a Christmas ham. The first day wasn’t too bad. The ice was only on the top so after a good whack with my staff it broke and everyone gulped as if they’d just crossed a desert. The next two days were a few degrees colder so the ice was thicker. Still, like some biblical character I was able to provide life giving water by whacking my staff on the hard surface.

Today was not so easy. It’s not just the surface that’s frozen, it’s through and through. I can’t hack into it and there is no way to melt it. I’ve tried to explain this to them, but they’re not interested in my “excuses”. They want water and they want it now, so they’ll get it, eventually. Our temps are supposed to go up a bit today and we’ll be back in the sixties by tomorrow afternoon.

We’re also supposed to have rain for the next few days so tomorrow should see a return to that old favorite tune…

“Make the water go away farmer!”

